Poncho girl!

Lana-poncho2

Tadaaaa!!! I’ve finally finished my daughter’s poncho. Just in time for the cooler months here in Melbourne!!!

She’s super happy with the results. She originally thought she would like fringes as a finish. But, I ended up doing a different kind of edging, as the wool we picked did not work well with fringes. I’m not sure how this type of edging is called, so I call it petal edging, since I usually use it to make crochet flower petals. If anyone knows the correct term for it, please drop me a line in the comment box.

The pattern for this edging goes like this:

Row 1

sl st, ch 5, sl st at the end of each cluster (so every 4 stitches)
Keep going around and sl st at the end. It looks like semi-circles all around the edge.

Row 2

dc around your 1st semi-circle, tr 5 times, dc. You have made 1 petal.
dc directly around the second semi-circle and keep going until the end. Fasten off.

If anyone gets inspired into making their own take on this poncho, please, please, please post a photo of it and send me a link to it. I’d love to see your work!

2 thoughts on “Poncho girl!

    • Thank you, Missy! I’m sure Lana will be glad to hear it. Yes, I did fall in love with the combination of colours on this yarn. And the beauty of it is that I didn’t have to change yarn for every row 😉

Leave a Reply

